The Halloween Project.

Pumpkin Faces Part I

As it is every year, I can already feel it coming for me at end of the month September. That cosy feeling of pumpkin soup, the scary music echoing in the distance and the cosy scariness of Halloween creeping closer with every day. The one time in the year I actually enjoy. Screw summer! Halloween is the best and most fun time in the year (for me)!
Filler text!

This year I have a lovely treat in store for you all. We have a few lovely neighbours who were kindly enough to donate a giant-ish pumpkin to us. So the creative spirit that possesses my body was challenged with the task of carving my first pumpkin face, and by golly, I gladly accepted! All in all, it actually wasn’t that much work. As it is with every project, I came up with some scary faces, and did some research on pumpkins, as you can see in the image above.


The next part was to hollow out the sucker. I started at the top, and worked myself to the bottom, removing seeds/hollowing out the whole thing in the process. After a lovely task of around half ‘n hour, I was already finished. I left the lid off, for safety purposes alone. I’d rather keep it in one piece until Halloween, after all. Also, I decided to cut of the bottom a bit, since it was a bit unstable at the bottom. Pumpkins have a rather tricky shape as it turns out. The real challenge I must say though, were it’s teeth. I wanted it to be exactly as my design, and since I’m a bit of a perfectionist, I might have spend most of my time on it’s mouth. Other then that, it went pretty well.

Well, there’s nothing else left for me to wish you all a spooky and great Halloween!
Don’t forget to check for something drooling under your bed, tonight…

Leave a Reply

