Unleash The Colour

Banner Twitter

You might remember last years Color Run, right? No? What’s that you say, you never even heard of it? Well, allow me to quickly break it down for you. The Color Run is this huge event that happens in almost every major city (I think) and that solely involves around people getting dirty. People (volunteers actually) throw 4-5 different shades of colour at you whilst you are running (most people even just walk ‘m) a 5k. It’s that simple really. No timings, no stressing out about.. anything really.

And everybody is smiling. Like ALL THE TIME.

Color RunnersThey got me hooked in September last year. Like you can read in the link at the start of this post. I was, and am still overwhelmed at the sheer amount of people who, just like me, love to do this. I’ll never forget the girl with the purple fingers in the London tube who introduced me to it. Thank you Maria, wherever you are. Ever since then, I can actually say I know what colour tastes like. And since last year’s run was a bit lonely (Belgium peeps that I know aren’t into this – pssj), I decided to see what my UK friends would think of it. So one thing led to another and well.. let me introduce you to @adamroberts_89. A generally really swell guy who, like me, is easily seduced by a crazy weekend, seeing as he had a ‘similar’ weekend just before this one. You’ll have to ask him about it, though.

I have to say, ever since the moment I decided to start running, I can’t “really” say I’ve had a non-pleasurable experience yet. I mean, yes, there were (or are?) the blisters, the unavoidable sprained ankle (clumsy me shouldn’t stray of the paths in the woods) and the beginnings of a good inflammation on my right leg, but those are mostly just my own fault. I can be very enthusiastic in my running, apparently. But other than those, I’ve only had fun encounters with lovely people, experienced some great moments I’ll never forget and learned a bit more about the capabilities (and limits!) of the human body.

All them medalsIt’s been almost a year now, at the end of June I believe, that I started. And just as I had planned, I have collected my 5 shiny medals. They’re hanging on the wall above my desk, to serve as an inspiration and reminder to get out more whenever I can or need to kill an hour or something (not that that happens much). I’ve participated in runs ranging from just 5 kilometres to a complete 10k Mile run. It’s not that I’m addicted to it, but I do love to run, ever since I was but a wee lad with the age of something like seven. So yeah, no regrets really.

As a last note, I’d love to give thanks to everyone who was responsible for organising these events. I’m referring to the amazing folks over at DVV Running, The Color Run Belgium, The Color Run London, De Loop Van Vlaanderen, the lovely people from Nike and all those volunteers who made this happen.

So, what will happen next? I honestly don’t know. I never planned this far, really. Guess this is where the clock resets itself? Since you know, these things happen on a yearly basis and all..

Leave a Reply

