Don’t Let All The Bling Blind You

How To & Not To Treat Clones

With the internet being so vast and almighty, there is always someone, somewhere, out to get me. I am, of course, referring to my addiction for art. Back in the days, before the mighty era of the internets, I had it easy. There were only two places I considered a place of weakness for me. The local bookstore around the corner and the library a few blocks away. Yeah, I had it easy as a kid. I saved practically all my allowance for that one special moment, where I was taken to the bookstore, to chose a good ol’ comic out of the never-ending wall the owner had in his store. And in between those moments, I devoured every book I could get my little hands on and was aloud to loan from the library.

Even back then, at the age of 7 or earlier, I was hooked solid on stories. Adventures in space, riddles in the dark, cowboys fighting of hordes of Indians.. it didn’t matter. As long as it was taking me away from the boring reality that school was for me. Nowadays though, it’s a whole different world. Nowadays we have fora, online comics or social network sites where cartoonists or illustrators from all kinds post their work on. We are being overwhelmed with every sketch, paint and drawing they can produce. Not by a detour via their agencies or whatnot, mind you. I’m talking straight from the illustrators even! Ah, the wonders of modern society.

It’s enough to make me stop all my activities. Unfortunately, I’m not even exaggerating here. I’m not too proud to admit that I too, have had many a days, where I’m just surfing from one portfolio to another, gauging my eyes out, staring at the screen, where a vast supply of art after another is being thrown at me. I like to call most of those days a moment where I suffer from “Depresspiration”. Allow me to quickly explain this term in my own made-up latin:

“Depresspiration”; (Latin Depressīōnem (nominative: depressīrātiō), Looking at the art of someone really talented that makes you want to draw more and quit at the same time.

It’s basically a combination of the term “Depressing” and “Inspiration”. I like to use it when I see art that inspires me because it’s so good, yet makes me want to quit at the same time, because it’s at a level that makes me realize I still have a *lot* to learn. So at some point, I revert back to my inner child. The kid who didn’t knew any better, and just started creating after he devoured yet another comic. Back then, I was so inspired I didn’t care at what level I could draw. I just did it. And that’s what I’m trying to say here (admittedly, through a very long detour), don’t let all the bling blind you. Don’t let yourself become so down you haven’t got the energy to pick up your pencil. Just grab a sketchbook, or whatever you’re most comfortable with, and start drawing/painting again. Create.

That’s why I decided to follow Sketch Dailies, a twitter account that posts daily character inspirations. Apparently, a lot of people seem to have chosen this path as well, since my timeline receives a now staggering amount of art. Which in turn, ironically, feeds my addiction for art even more. And so, dear reader, we come to a full circle. Addiction feeds creativity feeds addiction. The life of an illustrator in a nutshell, as it were.

All right internet, bombard me with your art.

Cheers,
me.

Leave a Reply

