London Schoolism 2013

The mighty Big Ben in all it's fine glory

The mighty Big Ben in all it’s fine glory

This weekend was … where to begin? Should I attempt to describe it as “awesome” or “legendary” I wouldn’t even do it the justice it deserves. I believe that’s saying something. To start things of, it’s London for 4 days.
That by itself gets me giggling like a little schoolgirl. I always get excited when I get to see the gorgeous statue near my platform in King’s Cross. From there on, it can only get better. And it did folks, it *so* did. Day #01 was solely reserved for my good UK friends @tashadarke, @Lord_Jareth & @mordraena, whom I loved seeing again for a couple of hours as we had a lovely dinner and some good laughs. I got to see London from all new and different kinds of corners (I still haven’t seen it completely though) and enjoyed it thouroughly.

A small animal Terryl was drawing during the workshop at London Schoolism 2013

A small animal Terryl was drawing during the workshop at London Schoolism 2013

Then the real deal began, as Day #02 kicked in with the first of two excellent workshops provided by the people of schoolism. Saturday was reserved for workshop #01 featuring the wise and experienced Terryl Whitlatch whom laid her experience of creature design upon us all. She did this with all her knowledge, her tips and tricks and her understanding of the animal structure ranging from the bone structure, over the muscles (naming every muscle by it’s Latin name!) to the treatment of the skin. A very good base for the rest of the weekend. We topped it off with a Q&A and got on to the rest of the evening where I was introduced to some excellent people whom, just like me, brought their portfolio to the table. I got to see some really interesting and beautiful pieces there and was truly impressed.

My colored cartoon of Terryl Whitlatch, handsigned by Terryl herself.

My colored cartoon of Terryl Whitlatch, handsigned by Terryl herself.

Nathan Fowkes' slideshow start

Nathan Fowkes’ slide show start

As tradition wants it, Day #02 of the workshops ended with the cherry on the cake. The metaphorical cherry here being Nathan Fowkes. This man, who worked previously on many a great titles and is currently working for Dreamworks Animation, brought a certain flair with him that made everyone in the room go silent. He went on to do this for another four hours as he walked us through the many stages of designing with color and light until eventually we were begging for more. He did this in the form of another Q&A and a friendly glance into his many sketchbooks.

Since I got to talk to so many cool people from both inside and outside the Schoolism crew, got so see much paintings that rocked my socks off and got to live though this unique moment in person, I’d like to call this a weekend with a lot of flair and an experience I’m not likely to forget very easily. When is the next Schoolism session in the UK again?

Cheers London, ’till next time.

Thierry

All the swag from London Schoolism 2013

All the swag from London Schoolism 2013

Leave a Reply

